A little adjustment

While reading this article, and thinking about my own relationship to social media and this blog (for which, as I noted in Oblogations I have trouble justifying small updates, both because of the precedent set by previous posts and because of the effort I require of myself to do so "properly" on the backend), a very simple idea occurred to me (or rather, I discovered it to be staring me in the face)—why can't a blog and a microblog coexist? Not in the way Tumblr does it, with no real delineation between the two, but in my own way (which after all is the entire point of this blog), which I already incidentally have a sort of skeleton for on this page.

When I created that first sidebar, I wasn't sure what I wanted to use it for; initially, I thought I might create a Blogger-style archive tree, but obviously I ended up developing the current system of leaving the entire history readily visible from the front page but sequestering away the actual contents (as opposed to the path chosen by s L u D g E, which I do respect, but didn't want for this page); then of course I thought I might use it to park the "comment" box, but I no longer feel the necessity for such a thing. In any case, I had a feeling I would need it someday, and now that day has arrived.

I'd like to try to migrate some of the more self-oriented and less performative things I now post to Tumblr onto here. This will ideally turn my Tumblr profile, much like my Twitter, into less of a personal site and therefore less of a timesink for me. The backend is also going to be much easier for me to update on mobile than these formal blog posts. Instead of opening Tumblr when I think of something to say, and getting sucked into the content stream, I'll open a static webpage, type it out, and then close the tab.

Fingers crossed. ~∓~

Now earworming: Hot Soul Singers - "Hlala Nami" 23 november 2022 @ 14:05 local | time elapsed: 89 minutes